Leipzig Workshop Faculty

The Leipzig Workshop faculty includes some of the world’s
foremost early music artists.

Leipzig Conference 2015 | Faculty | Outings  & Events | Accommodations | Costs & Registration


dan-stepnerDaniel Stepner, violin, Aston Magna’s Artistic Director, has programmed and led vocal and instrumental music dating from 1589 through the 1850s, featuring period instruments and vocal styles including operas by Monteverdi, Purcell and Mozart, cantatas by Bach, and oratorios by Handel. He is first violinist of the Lydian String Quartet (artist-in-residenceat Brandeis University) and a founding member of the Boston Museum Trio (resident at Boston’s Museum of Fine Arts for 27 years). He is a Preceptor in Music at Harvard University. For six years he was assistant concertmaster of the Orchestra of the Eighteenth Century, based in Holland, and for 24 years he was concertmaster of the Handel and Haydn Society, America’s oldest continuing musical organization. Now on the faculties of Brandeis and Harvard universities, he has taught violin, chamber music and performance practice at the New England Conservatory, Eastman School, Boston University and the Longy School of Music.

Laura-Jeppesen-150x150Laura Jeppesen, viola da gamba, is a graduate of the Yale School of Music. She is the principal violist of Boston Baroque, gambist of the Boston Museum Trio, and plays in many early music groups, including the Handel and Haydn Society, The Boston Early Music Festival Orchestra, and the Carthage Consort. She has been a Woodrow Wilson Designate, a Fellow of Harvard’s Institute for Advanced Studies, and a Fulbright Scholar. She has performed as soloist under conductors Christopher Hogwood, Edo de Waart, Seiji Ozawa, Martin Pearlman, Grant Llewellyn and Bernard Haitink. Her extensive discography includes music for solo viola da gamba, the gamba sonatas of J.S. Bach, Buxtehude’s Trio Sonatas opus 1 and 2, Telemann’s Paris Quartets, and music of Marin Marais. She teaches at Boston University and Wellesley College.

Christopher KruegerChristopher Krueger, flute, was a student of James Pappoutsakis at the New England Conservatory of Music. He has performed as principal flutist with the Boston Symphony, the Boston Pops and Boston Pops Esplanade Orchestras, the Orpheus Chamber Orchestra, the Opera Company of Boston, Boston Ballet, Boston Musica Viva and Cantata Singers, among others. He was a founding member of the Emmanuel Wind Quintet, winners of the 1981 Walter W. Naumburg Award for Chamber Music. His career as a Baroque flutist has taken him throughout the U.S., Europe, Eastern Europe and Australia. He is a member of the Bach Ensemble and the Aulos Ensemble, and is principal flutist with the Handel and Haydn Society and Boston Baroque. Mr. Krueger is on the faculty at New England Conservatory of Music, Boston University and Oberlin’s Baroque Performance Institute. He is a Senior Lecturer in Music at the University of Massachusetts at Amherst.

Peter SykesPeter Sykes, organ, harpsichord and continuo, is Associate Professor of Music and Chair of the Historical Performance Department at Boston University, where he teaches organ, harpsichord, performance practice, and continuo realization. He performs and records with Boston Baroque and Aston Magna, and is Music Director of First Church in Cambridge. He performs extensively on the harpsichord, clavichord, and organ. He has made 10 solo recordings of organ repertoire ranging from Buxtehude, Couperin and Bach to Reger and Hindemith, and earned acclaim for his organ transcription of Holst’s “The Planets.” Newly released is Sykes’ recording of the complete Bach harpsichord partitas on the Centaur label; soon to be released is an all-Bach clavichord recording and the complete Book I of the Well-Tempered Clavier.  A founding board member and current president of the Boston Clavichord Society, he is the recipient of the Chadwick Medal (1978) and Outstanding Alumni Award (2005) from the New England Conservatory, the Erwin Bodky Prize (1993) from the Cambridge Society for Early Music, and the Distinguished Artist Award from the St. Botolph Club Foundation (2011).